Album Review: O’Kingdom – Adamah

O’Kingdom – Adamah

Release Date – October 2011

Genre: Metal, Hardcore

1. I Am No Traitor
2. The Appointed Boundaries
3. A Place For No Man
4. The Rising Up
5. Prophecy

For fans of: Miss May I, Whitechapel, and The Devil Wears Prada


O’Kingdom is a fresh band, having just formed in 2010, Adamah is their first release.  This five song EP shows the bands potential in a big way. The breakdowns on Adamah are so catchy, you cannot sit still and listen to this. If you are you can you’re probably dead. While every song on this album is amazing,  the stand out track is The Appointed Boundaries.  It was the first song that I heard from this band and on the first listen I was immediately hooked.  As heavy as this song is, the choruses paint such amazing mental images. The vocals are a great blend of screams and singing. I would highly recommend buying this CD. You can pick it up here on iTunes today!

Review by Zach Rantanen

Review: Various Artists – Punk Goes Pop 3


Various Artists – Punk Goes Pop 3

Release date: November 2, 2010


Track List:

1. Breathe Carolina – Down

2. Woe, Is Me – Hot N Cold

3. Artist Vs. Poet – Bad Romance

4. Mayday Parade – In My Head

5. Asking Alexandria – Right Now (Na Na Na)

6. This Century – Paper Planes

7. The Word Alive – Heartless

8. Family Force 5 – Bulletproof

9. Of Mice & Men – Blame It

10. Miss May I – Run This Town

11. The Ready Set – Airplanes

12. Cute Is What We Aim For – Dead & Gone

13. Sparks The Rescue – Need You Now

14. We Came As Romans – My Love

Punk Goes Pop 2 made a big hit with the hardcore scene.  In this follow up to greatness; how would Fearless Records ever top PGP 2?  The answer is better songs.  Last time there were about three huge hits, whereas with PGP 3, almost every song is rap chart topper.  Familiarity truly breeds success here.  Breaking away from the pop and pop rock hits of PGP 2, Fearless makes a huge gamble.  This album should be titled Punk Goes Crunk 2.  The 2 tracks that really stood out for me on this one, although all of them are great, were Right Now (Na Na Na) and Blame It.  Asking Alexandria did a great job in making their song pick almost sound like a song entirely their own – it has a very wide open synth sound.  Although it’s a song about losing the one person you loved, it manages to sound like a happy song.  Of Mice & Men did an incredible job with the track Blame It. Shayley Bourget (vocals) sings this one perfectly. This is also Jerry Roush’s (screams) debut recording with the band, and he fits in with the sound perfectly.  There is no way you can go wrong by picking up this album; it guarantees a good time.

Woe, Is Me – Number[s] Review


Woe, Is Me – Number[s]

Release Date: August 31, 2010


Track List:

1. On Veiled Men

2. [&] Delinquents

3. Mannequin Religion

4. Keep Your Enemies Close

5. Hell Or High Water

6. For The Likes Of You

7. I.

8. Our Number[s]

9. If Not, For Ourselves

10. Desolate [The Conductor]

Woe, Is Me is an American, 7-piece metalcore band from Atlanta, Georgia, who are signed to Rise Records and Velocity Records.  First off; seven members might sound like a bit much, but in WIM’s case, it is a heavenly combination.  This band is making big time waves on the hardcore scene right now.  They played their first show after they were signed to a record label, and that is something that not many bands have done.  Number[s] is an amazing start for these guys, seeing as all the songs on this disc seem to blend together perfectly.  Austin Thornton (drums) throws down amazing breakdowns for this band.  However, the first thing you will notice about this band is Tyler Carter.  This kid is the next Jonny Craig, but I believe he is better already than Craig.  His lyrics are very well formed, and each line builds on the songs story so well that by the end of each song, you wish it would keep going.  His R&B style is very similar to Craig as well, but I don’t think Jonny has a problem with it, as he does guest vocals on this album.  Watch for this band to come to your town, they are worth seeing, as they are sure to put on a great show.  Pick up this album, you won’t regret it.

Review: Miss May I – Monument

Miss May I – Monument

Release date – August 17, 2010

Track List:

1. Our Kings

2. Masses Of A Dying Breed

3. Answers

4. Relentless Chaos

5. Creations

6. Gears

7. Colossal

8. We Have Fallen

9. In Recognition

10. Monument

Hello readers! My name is Zach and I will be doing CD reviews here at Holy Cow! Music Press. I will be telling you about the albums to pick up and the ones you should pass up.

Miss May I is an Ohio metalcore band that formed in 2006.  Monument is the band’s second full length album. In this release, Ryan Neff (Bass & Vocals) is really a shining star.  While Ryan pours out the most powerful lines, sometimes sounding similar to As I Lay Dying, Levi Benton (Vocals) delivers devastating screams.  The breakdowns on Relentless Chaos are ridiculously catchy, and impossible not to jam along with.  In Recognition is a very powerful ballad that sways and moves with an ocean tides rhythm.  Then it breaks in to the title track. The double bass sounds impossibly fast on this track.  These guys have truly grown from their last release, 2009’s Apologies Are For The Weak.  I recommend picking up this head-banger anthem.  But try not to listen to Relentless Chaos while driving; it is dangerous.

%d bloggers like this: